Indian Railways

Indian Railways has established in 8 May 1845. It is one of the old organizations in India and serving many Indian citizens in the way of transport. From the last 176 years, Indian Railways is the market leader in rail transport of Asia and worldwide. It is the largest railway network in India and also in the world. It’s operations are running under the jurisdiction of Ministry of Railways. Ministry of Railways is one of the branches of Government of India. In Size, it is the fourth largest network in the world. Indian Railways is the rail transport industry in India.

Indian Railways headquarters is located in New Delhi, India. Its services are available only in India. The services offered by Indian Railways to their customers are passenger railways, parcel carrier, freight services, catering and tourism services etc. Almost 13 lakh employees are working under Indian railways. It has 18 zones in India. The subsidiaries of Indian Railways are Indian Railway Finance Corporation, Centre for Railway Information Systems, Central Organization for Railway Electrification, Rail India Technical and Economic Service, Mumbai Railway Vikas Corporation, Container Corporation of India, National High Speed Rail Corporation Limited, Dedicated Freight Corridor Corporation of India, Rail Vikas Nigam Limited, IRCON International, RailTel Corporation of India and Indian Railway Catering and Tourism Corporation.

Indian Railways has the route length of 67956 kilometers. It has 99235 kilometers of running track. The total track of Indian railways as on 31 March 2020 is 126366 kilometers. Indian Railways has 766908 passenger coaches. It has 293077 freight wagons. It has 12729 locomotives. Indian railways have established largest man power to their services. As per the latest statistics almost 1.254 million employees are working under Indian Railways. They are the eight largest man power industries in world.

Indian Railways

History Of Indian Railways

The brief histories of Indian Railways are given below:

  • The first train In India was start at Madras (Chennai) in 1832.
  • The first train was Red Hill Railway. It was running between Red Hills and Chintadripet Bridge.
  • The first dam construction railway was made on Godavari River, which is located at Dowleswaram in Rajahmundry in 1845.
  • On 16 April 1853, India’s first passenger train was started between Mumbai and Thane.
  • On 15 August 1854, Eastern India’s first passenger train was started between Howrah and Hoogly.
  • On 1 July 1856, South India first passenger train was stated in Madras (Chennai).
  • On 3 February 1925, the first electric passenger train was started in India between Victoria Terminus and Kurla.
  • In 1951, Indian Railways has separated it wings as zones across India.
  • On 14 April 1951, Southern zone was started in India.
  • On 5 November 1951, Central and Western zones are started in India.
  • In 1951, Indian Railways has started a new rule that to mandate the fans and lights in all compartments of passenger classes.
  • In 1956, Indian railways have brought the sleeping coaches for their passengers.
  • In 1956, Indian Railways have brought first fully air conditioned train for their passengers. This was introduced between Howrah and Delhi.
  • In 1986, the first computerized ticketing and reservation system was started in New Delhi, India.
  • In 1993, Indian Railways has bought three tier coaches and sleeper coaches.
  • In September 1996, computerized ticketing and reservation system has extended to the cities Mumbai and Chennai.
  • In February 2000, Indian Railways has started its own website for their operations.
  • In 3 August 2002, Indian Railways has started complete online reservation and ticketing system through its website.
  • Indian Railways Steps for passenger safety has increase the more revenue due to belief of Indian passenger to travel in Indian railways is more secure safe.
  • Indian railway board is four member railway boards. Ministry of railways is the chairmen of this railway board.
  • Indian railways have divided into 18 zones.
  • Indian railway zones are further divided into 71 operating divisions.

Indian Railways Services

The different types of services offered by Indian railways are given below:

  • Indian Railways runs its own schools, hospitals and sports facilities for their staff.
  • It has introduced new electric multiple unit train sets for long distance routes.
  • Indian railways helpline number 139.
  • Food and catering services in trains and platforms of railway stations.
  • Providing drinking water in railway status.
  • Booking train tickets at home.
  • Real time PNR status checking.
  • Real time seat availability checking.
  • Real time train time checking.
  • Real time train running status checking.
  • Hygienic railway stations.

Indian Railways Travel Classes

Indian railways introduced various classes for their passengers. And those are given below:

  • 1A – It means AC First Class. It is the most luxurious and expensive class. Fare of AC First class is high, when compare with other travel classes.
  • 2A – It means AC Two Tier. It has sleeping berths. Curtains are fitted along the corridor.
  • 3A – It means AC Three Tier. It has 64 sleeping berths. Its berths are similar to AC Two Tier.
  • 3E – It means AC Three Tier Economy. It has 81 sleeping berths. Berths are similar to 3A.
  • EC – It means Executive Chair Car. It is air conditioned coach.
  • CC – It means AC Chair Car. It is air conditioned coach. It contains five seats in each row.
  • GC – It means AC Chair Car Economy. It is just similar to AC Chair car.
  • SL – It means sleeper class. It is most common class in Indian Railway trains. In every train almost ten or more coaches are available. Each coach contain 72 berths. Most people loving coach.
  • 2S – It means second seater. It is similar to CC. This coach contains three doors on each side.
  • FC – It means First Class. It is similar to 1A. It doesn’t contain any air condition. It is also not contain any bedding.
  • UR/GN/GS – It means Unreserved or General. It is the lease expensive accommodation class. In this class seat is also not guaranteed. General tickets are valid on any train. We have to use General tickets within 24 hours from the time of purchase.

Different Trains Of Indian Railways

Some of the trains operated by Indian railways are mentioned below:

  • Vande Bharat Express – it is semi high speed train. It is air conditioned train. It runs in day time. Wi-Fi, CCTV cameras etc are available.
  • Tejas express – It is semi high speed train. It is air conditioned train. LED TV, Wi-Fi, CCTV cameras, hand dryers, bio vacuum toilets etc are available.
  • Gatimaan Express – It is the first semi high speed train. It is air conditioned train. It is running between Delhi and Jhansi.
  • Shatabdi Express – it is air conditioned train.
  • Double Decker Express – It is air conditioned train. It has limit stops.
  • Jan Shatabdi Express – it is economical. It is both air conditioned and non air conditioned.
  • Intercity Express, Rajdhani Express, Duronto Express, Humsafar Express, Garib Rath Express, Yuva Express, Sampark Kranti Express, Kavi Guru Express, Vivek Express, Rajya Rani Express, Mahamana Express, Antyodaya Express, Jan Sadharan Express, Suvidha Express, Superfast Express Trains, Express Trains, Mail trains, Passenger trains, Link/Slip Express/Passenger trains, Suburban trains, Metro trains, Mountain Railways, Maharajas’ Express, The Deccan Odyssey, The Golden Chariot train, The Mahaparinirvan Express, The Fairy Queen etc.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.